Multi-faith Centre

Size: Set text to smallest font size | Set text to normal font size | Set text to second largest font size | Set text to largest font size
Change Contrast

Campus Chaplains Association

Campus Chaplain Association contacts


What we are all about

We are a multi-faith organization reflecting the multi-ethnic/multi-faith complexion of the University of Toronto. We help make the connections between an intellectual understanding of spirituality and living the reality of faith. We are there at critical moments to facilitate rites of passage -- weddings, funerals, memorial services.

We offer spiritual support from a holistic perspective.

We are not bound by being part of the academic reporting system of the university.

We are committed to helping people (students, staff and faculty) grow to wholeness through a search for meaning in life, an exploration of spiritualities and an examination of moral and ethical issues.


Four good reasons ... to include the Campus Chaplains in your U of T experience:


Survive and Thrive at U of T: The demands on students, faculty and staff at U of T are exciting and enormous. Course workloads reflect the increasing complexity of our culture. Funding cut-backs now require expanded job expectations. We need the caring support of one another, the pastoral care of trained counsellors and opportunities for prayer and meditation. The Campus Chaplains are here to care for you. Call on us.

Justice and Ethics: How can a deeper understanding of the great religious moral imperatives e.g. Love your neighbour, Car for the Earth) contribute to creating a more just and compassionate society? Each of our religious groups has a wealth of tradition and literature to study and savour, offering inspiration to act ethically and wisely. Join us in reflection and action.

Worship - Communal Awe and Thanksgiving: Who are we in the universe? Where have I come from? Where am I going? How do I  account for the good/bad in my life? These are not problems to be solved but mysteries with which we all live. In the community gathered we can inspire and support each other to live graciously -- even without all the answers. You are welcome to join as we gather to worship.

Pluralism: Easy day we come into contact with people of different belief systems and different cultural backgrounds. Each of the CCA's religious groups is searching for new ways to live peacefully with its neighbours. You are invited to join us in exploring this challenge and opportunity for our society.

Call the Chaplains: Feel free to call or e-mail us whenever you have questions or want to connect:

To find community on campus
For counselling
For events information (retreats, religious celebrations, forums on critical issues)
For interest and discussion groups (regular groups meet throughout the year)
For worship opportunities on campus (many groups hold regular worship services)
 

The Campus Chaplains are

Anglican - Trinity College
Reverend Andrea Budgey
Andrea-chapel-photo-edited
416-978-3288
chaplain@trinity.utoronto.ca

Baptist 
Greg Alexander
Greg-Alexander-Re-Sized

Greg Alexander

greg.t.alexander@gmail.com


Buddhist (Indo-Tibetan/Vajrayana Tradition) 
Marco Mascarin 
Marco-Mascarin
416-537-0928
marco.mascarin@utoronto.c
 
Buddhist (Theravada Tradition)
Rev. Bhante Saranapala
Rev-Bhante

905-274-7421
bsaranapala@utoronto.ca
http://www.westendbuddhist.com 

Power2Change
Archie Kenyon
Archie-06
647-838-6585

archie.kenyon@p2c.ca

Catholic (Eastern)
Gene-Morshita
Eastern Catholic
Rev. Gene Morishita-Miki 
416 461-7991
morishita-miki@sympatico.ca

Catholic (Roman)
Newman Centre
Father Chris Cauchi
http://newmantoronto.com/sites/default/files/images/FrChrisBio_0.jpg
416 979-2468 x 223
fr.chris@newmantoronto.com
http://www.newmantoronto.com

 

 

Erin Kinsella, Associate Director of Campus Ministry
Erin-Newman

416-979-2468 x 222
erin@newmantoronto.com

 

Sonal Castelino, Associate Director of Graduate Programs, RCIA, and Confirmation

Sonal

416-979-2468 x 244
sonal.castelino@newmantoronto.com

 


St. Michael's College
Marilyn

 

Marilyn Elphick, RN, M.Div. 
(416) 926-7278 
marilyn.elphick@utoronto.ca

 
Christian Reformed/ Graduate Christian Fellowship
Rev. Geoff Wichert
Geoff-Wichert

 

Email: geoff.wichert@utoronto.ca

Ecumenical Chaplaincy - Presbyterian and United Church
Rev. Ralph Carl Wushke, Th. M. 
Wushke-UofT2-2006-04-07
416- 978-2785 
ecumenical.chaplain@utoronto.ca
http://www.utoronto.ca/ecumenicalchaplaincy

Jeanette Unger

student.minister@utoronto.ca
416-978-2785

Humanist
Mary Beaty BEd MLS
marycpheadcrop
416-951-9980
mary.beaty@utoronto.ca

Gail McCabe Phd RSSW
Gail-McCabe-Re-Sized
Telephone: 905-220-9072
gailmccabe@gmail.com
http://www.uthumanist.com

Hindu Campus Ministry/Hindu Dharma Mission (Canada)
Pandit Suraj Persad 
Suraj

416-530-1899 
suraj.persad@utoronto.ca
http://www.hinduchaplaincy.com


Hindu - Vedanta Society
Swami Kripamyanananda 
Swami-Kripa

416- 240-7262 
society@vedantatoronto.ca
http://www.vedantatoronto.ca

Inter-Varsity Christian Fellowship

Tony Lai International Student Ministry
(St. George)
Tony-Lai
647-521-2076
ismchaplain@gmail.com

Allison Taylor (St. George)
Allison

647-831-2554
ataylor@ivcf.ca

Jain

Raj Patil
Raj-Patil-Re-Sized
905-792-8655

drpatil@hotmail.com


Jewish Chabad House
Rabbi Yishaya Rose
Yishaya-Rose
416-628-8313
rabbi@UTjews.com
www.UTjews.com

Shira Rose
Shira-Rose
shira@UTjews.com
www.UTjews.com

 

Jewish/Hillel - Wolfond Centre for Jewish Campus Life 
 

Marc Newburgh 
416- 913-2426
marc.newburgh@hilleltoronto.org
http://www.hilleltoronto.org

Rabbi Aaron Katchen

akheadshot
416-913-2445
aaron.katchen@utoronto.ca


Lutheran Campus Ministry
Sherry Coman
Sherry-Coman
416-838-4011
Email: scoman@lutheransconnect.com
Web: http://lutheransconnect.com

Muslim

Amjad Tarsin
Amjad

416-813-4099
Email: amjad@mcuoft.com
http://mcuoft.com/

Ruqayyah Ahdab

Ruqayyah
416-813-4099
ruqayyah@mcuoft.com
http://mcuoft.com/

Imam Abdul Hai Patel
Picture12

416-282-4342
AFSAZ@rogers.com


Native - First Nations House
Elder Andrew Wesley

Andrew-Wesley
416-978-8227
fnh.info@utoronto.ca 


Orthodox Christian
Father Nicholas Young

Nicholas-Young
647-428-6987
http://www.stnicholasofmyra.com

Pagan (Celtic and Reconstructionist Traditions)
Brian Walsh, BA, MPhil, ACPC
Brian

416-657-2220
brianwalsh@newtara.org
http://www.newtara.org

Pagan (Wiccan)


Catherine Star, High Priestess
Pagan

Telephone: 416-230-7769
Email: catherine.starr@utoronto.ca

Sikh Dharma
Guru Fatha Singh Khalsa
Guru Fatha Singh
Telephone: 416-888-8535
Email: gurufathasingh@gmail.com
http://www.gurufathasingh.com

Unitarian Universalist
Rev. Jeffrey Brown

Telephone: 416-599-6528
Email: jeffrey.brown@utoronto.ca




Aggressive Religious Recruiting

Most students’ experience with faith-based groups recognized by the University of Toronto will be a positive one. There may be, however, some high-pressure religious groups of which students should be aware. Some students may find themselves being approached from a member of one of these group; students who are lonely, having a difficult time socially or are not doing well academically are particularly vulnerable.

The following questions may be helpful in determining whether a group is right for you:

1. Does the group seem too perfect? Do people agree and accept all orders cheerfully?
2. In the group, do you find yourself without enough private time? Enough nourishment? Enough sleep?
3. Does the group say that your parents and friends cannot understand or help you with religious matters?
4. Is it unacceptable to have doubts about what the group teaches or does? Is doubt seen as a sign of weakness?
5. Does the group view all aspects of your former life as bad? Is the group reluctant to accept you as you are? Do you feel pressure to change?
6. Is it proper to deceive people for the sake of the group?
7. Are you uncomfortable with the group’s attitude towards women or a particular racial or ethnic group?
8. Does the group encourage you to put their meetings before all other commitments, including studying?

For a list of recognized spiritual and faith communities on campus, go to ulife.utoronto.ca