Multi-faith Centre

Size: Set text to smallest font size | Set text to normal font size | Set text to second largest font size | Set text to largest font size
Change Contrast

Campus Chaplains Association

Chaplains by Denomination:

What we are all about

We are a multi-faith organization reflecting the multi-ethnic/multi-faith complexion of the University of Toronto. We help make the connections between an intellectual understanding of spirituality and living the reality of faith. We are there at critical moments to facilitate rites of passage -- weddings, funerals, memorial services.

We offer spiritual support from a holistic perspective.

We are not bound by being part of the academic reporting system of the university.

We are committed to helping people (students, staff and faculty) grow to wholeness through a search for meaning in life, an exploration of spiritualities and an examination of moral and ethical issues.


Four good reasons ... to include the Campus Chaplains in your U of T experience:

Survive and Thrive at U of T: The demands on students, faculty and staff at U of T are exciting and enormous. Course workloads reflect the increasing complexity of our culture. Funding cut-backs now require expanded job expectations. We need the caring support of one another, the pastoral care of trained counsellors and opportunities for prayer and meditation. The Campus Chaplains are here to care for you. Call on us.

Justice and Ethics: How can a deeper understanding of the great religious moral imperatives e.g. Love your neighbour, Car for the Earth) contribute to creating a more just and compassionate society? Each of our religious groups has a wealth of tradition and literature to study and savour, offering inspiration to act ethically and wisely. Join us in reflection and action.

Worship - Communal Awe and Thanksgiving: Who are we in the universe? Where have I come from? Where am I going? How do I  account for the good/bad in my life? These are not problems to be solved but mysteries with which we all live. In the community gathered we can inspire and support each other to live graciously -- even without all the answers. You are welcome to join as we gather to worship.

Pluralism: Easy day we come into contact with people of different belief systems and different cultural backgrounds. Each of the CCA's religious groups is searching for new ways to live peacefully with its neighbours. You are invited to join us in exploring this challenge and opportunity for our society.

Call the Chaplains: Feel free to call or e-mail us whenever you have questions or want to connect:

  • To find community on campus
  • For counselling
  • For events information (retreats, religious celebrations, forums on critical issues)
  • For interest and discussion groups (regular groups meet throughout the year)
  • For worship opportunities on campus (many groups hold regular worship services)

 

Buddhist

Indo-Tibetan/Vajrayana

Marco Mascarin 

416-537-0928

marco.mascarin@utoronto.ca

Theravada

Rev. Bhante Saranapala

905-274-7421

bsaranapala@utoronto.ca

www.westendbuddhist.com

Christian - Catholic

Eastern

Rev. Gene Morishita-Miki

416-461-7991

morishita-miki@rogers.com

Roman 

Father Chris Cauchi

416-979-2468 x 223

fr.chris@newmantoronto.com

www.newman.toronto.com

Roman 

Erin Kinsella

416-979-2468 x 222

erin@newmantoronto.com

Roman

Sonal Castelino

416-978-2468 x 244

sonal@newmantoronto.com

Roman

Marilyn Elphick

416-926-7278

marilyn.elphick@utoronto.ca

Christian - Orthodox

Father Nicholas Young

647-428-6987

www.stnicholasofmyra.com

Christian - Protestant

Anglican

Rev. Andrea Budgey

416-978-3288

chaplain@trinity.utoronto.ca

Baptist

Greg Alexander

greg.gta.toronto@gmail.com

Christian Reformed

Rev. Geoff Wichert 

geoff.wichert@utoronto.ca

Inter-Varsity Christian Fellowship

Tony Lai

647-521-2076

ismchaplain@gmail.com

Inter-Varsity Christian Fellowship

Fiona Jack

fjack@ivcf.ca

Power to Change

Archie Kenyon

647-838-6585

archie.kenyon@p2c.com

Presbyterian/United

Rev. Ralph Carl Wushke

416-978-2785

ecumenical.chaplain@utoronto.ca

www.utoronto.ca/ecumenicalchaplaincy

Presbyterian/United

Susan Harrison

416-978-2785

student.minister@utoronto.ca

Unitarian Universalist

Rev. Jeffrey Brown

416-599-6528

jeffrey.brown@utoronto.ca

Hindu

Pandit Suraj Persad

416-530-1899

suraj.persad@utoronto.ca

www.hinduchaplaincy.com

Vedanta

Swami Kripamyanananda

416-240-7262

society@vedantatoronto.ca

www.vedantatoronto.ca

Humanist

Mary Beaty

416-951-9980

mary.beaty@utoronto.ca

Catherine Dunphy

cadunphy280@gmail.com

Jain

Raj Patil

905-792-8655

drpatil@hotmail.com

Jewish

Chabad House

Rabbi Yishaya Rose

416-628-8313

rabbi@utjews.com

www.utjews.com

Chabad House

Shira Rose

shira@utjews.com

www.utjews.com

Hillel

Rabbi Aaron Katchen

416-913-2445

aaron.katchen@utoronto.ca

Hillel

Marc Newburgh

416-913-2424

marc.newburgh@hilleltoronto.org

www.hilleltoronto.org

Muslim

Amjad Tarsin

416-813-4099

amjad@mcufot.com

www.mcuoft.com

Iman Abdul Hai Patel

416-282-4342

afsaz@rogers.com

Native

First Nations House

Elder Andrew Wesley

416-978-8227

fnh.info@utoronto.ca

Pagan

Celtic & Reconstructionist

Brian Walsh

416-657-2220

brian.walsh@newtara.org

www.newtara.org

Wiccan

Catherine Starr

416-230-7769

catherine.starr@utoronto.ca

Sikh

Sikh Dharma 

Guru Fatha Singh Khalsa

416-888-8535

gurufathasingh@gmail.com

www.gurufathasingh.com